English Mustard Post

January 27, 2007 at 4:10 am (General Life)

….its time to “tomAHto sauce”. Doesn’t quite have the same ring as ketchup.

On the work front, I think I’ve settled into a regular job routine. As an IVA admistrator, I collect the data from clients who want to enroll in an IVA, which is this government supported debt management plan. If they had such a thing in the US, I would have done it ages ago. Anyway, I’m only one of eight people in the company of over 200 employees who do such a job, and with the government overseers and lawyers coming in and out regularly, I think I’m in a good place. Unfortuately, my “team leader” is a completely useless individual as far as training me goes, so I’ve either had to figure out my way through it by making mistakes and being told; or going to other IVA admins and asking for their help. Which doesn’t equal much, since most of them only started a few months before me.

I get an hour lunch, so I usually head over to Emma’s department (Accounts), and eat lunch with her. I do get to spend a decent amount of time with her during the days, with a 70 minute bus ride to work, a 60 minute lunch, and a 70 minute bus ride home from work. (The bus is a money pit – we’re dropping about $200 a month each on bus tickets….car soon!) By the time we get home from work at 7pm (9pm on Thursdays, since it’s my late day), have dinner, shower, do what chores need doing, it’s pretty much time for bed.

The in-laws have pretty much stayed clear of me and the house. Em’s dad has come over once, Nana once, and brother once. Em’s mom came by once, but didn’t speak to me. I had a falling out with Em’s brother. I basically told his ex-girlfriend that I knew she was cheating on him back when they were together, and now he’s mad that I hurt her feelings. Yeah, I had a few in me, but the girl deserved it.

I’ve actually stuck to one crochet project since I’ve been here – the mega-huge granny square blanket. I only get time to hook on the weekends, so it’s slow going. Em says she’s getting me a cabinet that I can fill with crochet stuff. I think she’s trying to scare away the homesickness I’ve been going through.

Yeah, I’ve had a few rought days since I got here, which is why I probably haven’t posted that much…it would have been mostly negative.  But I’m in a good place, mentally, right now. And very glad to be with my wife. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Deneen said,

    I’m glad you posted, sounds like you are in some sort of routine at least. You’ll figure it out at work, just give it a little more time.

    Hugs to ya!

  2. Pink said,

    Hi there! oh, Sara, I feel for you… I got on the hamster-wheel of homesickness and didn’t know what to do! I can giggle about it now because I know those feelings pass. My son and I now text message each other every day on our cell phones, which is fun and inexpensive, and my parents have a fax machine. Those little solutions clear the way for phone calls on special days so the bills aren’t astronomical. I don’t know if you know about them but in England you can buy prepaid phone cards for five pounds that let you phone the US for about six hours.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

