Not quite as planned….

November 29, 2006 at 5:56 pm (Teaching, The Big Move)

Well, the kids found out today that I’m leaving. But, unfortunately, not from me.

The person they hired to replace me already works in the school. She knew of my plan on when and how I was going to tell my kiddos. When she got the word that she had been hired (yesterday), she told her daughter, who goes to the school. Daughter told a friend, who told another friend, who told one of my students.

Who came up to me this morning, with tears in his eyes, saying, “Ms. C! You’re moving? You’re leaving us?”

Sigh. Yeah. I feel like a TOTAL ASSHOLE.

So to nip it in the bud, I sat down with my four classes today, and let them know what was going on. And they cried. A lot. And were mad. Very mad. And were scared. All of the things I expected them to me, but at a later date and in a more controlled atmosphere.  So many questions, so many tears, so much frustration. They didn’t deserve to find out this way.
I think this is the 2nd hardest day I’ve ever had to work. Second only to the day I had to let my kids know that another staff member had died the night before.

2 Comments

  1. penny [aka peninah] said,

    {{hugs}}

  2. Pink said,

    Shit…doesn’t bode well for your replacement being able to keep things confidential, does it? But kids being kids they’ll cope ’cause it’s all part of growing up, but that doesn’t make it any easier, I know.

Leave a Reply

