Uhh….Moby?

November 6, 2006 at 1:35 pm (Social and Politics)

As I was reading msnbc’s gossip section today, I came across this:

Techno musician Moby says that if he ever has children, he hopes they’re gay. “They are less likely to get into a fight and less likely to date rape people,” the musician says, reports WENN. “I’m straight but I’ve grown up around gay people and gay clubs. They are superior to straight people. If you have a gay child you’re more inclined to be a prouder parent.”

Does anyone else think that’s taking it a bit too far? IMO, positive generalizations cause almost as much harm as negative ones. Less likely to date rape people? C’mon. I want to see the stats on that one. Please, let this snippit from Moby be taking waaaaaaay out of context.

3 Comments

  1. ammar said,

    i wish i could personally congratulate moby for being so STUPID…
    gay people cant produce kids…he is expecting straight people to make babies for gays.
    Any how If you stastically like to look into this matter, gay men of Afghanistan and sub continent are infamous for being rapists.

  2. kinkylilblackdress said,

    I did find your blog post quite offensive, and inaccurate. I know several gay couples that have children, born of their own bodies. I’m assming your lack of knowledge is due to your cultural upbringing, so I will leave your comments on my blog to show others just what I mean when I discuss matters such as this.

  3. ammar said,

    hmm.. well i might be inaccurate and offensive and that i accept.
    i want to appologize to you and any member of the gay community who found my words offensive, i knw i was wrong when i offended you.

    But my appology reflects my cultural upbringing. I only have read or saw in movies about gay couples having babies from their bodies and then living with thier repective partners. For me and my religion this appraoch is completely wrong but i knw that i have lil or no right to criticise or judge any one whose practicing this approach. Because i respect the privacy of others. I only hope that you accept my appology and allow me to read your blogs.

Leave a Reply

