Rainy Saturday activities

October 28, 2006 at 1:23 pm (General Life)

It’s pouring outside. I like it. Everything is so calm and low key. It’s put me into a rather domestic mood.

I’ve crochetd for about 2 hours this morning. I’m almost done with the star blankie I’m making. About half a skein left. Then, I’m on to my ripple afghan. I need to get back to finishing my Christmas gifts. So, crocheting 10+ hours a weekend is in the future. Emma’s in Wales this weekend, camping with her friends, so I don’t need to be worried about coordinating our time to actually be able to have a decent conversation with eachother this weekend.

I forgot what the combo of rainy days and crochet does to my joints. While I took a break from hooking, I decided to whip something up for dinner. I’m back on my Weight Watchers full swing now that I’m less stressed over things, so I surfed over to dwlz.com’s forum for some crock pot ideas.

I found a few that I liked, but didn’t tickle my fancy all to much, so this is what I ended up putting together:

1.5lbs of skinless chicken tenders
1 onion, cut in quarters and separated into rings
4 potatoes, cut into large chunks (skins left on)
3 cloves of garlic, smashed
4 carrots, cut into about eight chunks each
1 green pepper, cut in large chunks
1 cup white wine
1 cup onion soup
salt and pepper to taste

I wanted more veggies than chicken, so if you’re a meat eater, I’d probably double the chiken. I’ll check it in about six hours and hope it’s good. Not sure what to serve with it though.

After-dinner edit: Chicken dish came out okay. I think next time I’ll put it to roast instead of crock-pot. It might thicken more, and brown the potatoes too. 

Leave a Reply

