Work Whatnots & Family Fun

September 25, 2006 at 10:57 am (Crochet & Crafts, Personal Revelations & Whatnot, Teaching)

I’m up to 16 permission slips back for Crochet Club today. I’ve asked the clubs advisor if I can split the group into two, and do half on Mondays, and half on Thursdays. Even with Emma helping me out, 16 is a lot of kids for such a hands-on activity. I’m a bit panicy, since I only bought 10 hooks. I brought mine, so I can lend that out.

My school has Stanford Testing this week. One of those lovely fill-in-the-bubble standardized tests. Yeah. It’s only week 5 of school, and we’re already into this garbage. The kids are shot for the rest of the day. Does this make sense to you – I teach 5th and 6th this year, but they had me with a 7th grade group. The 7th grade Title 1 para took a 5th grade group. Even though I have worked with those 7th graders before (last year), doesn’t it seem a bit backward to you? Especially when the 5th grade group involved the student that I work with 1:1, with Asperger’s syndrome? Once again, I am left saying, “I would have not made that decision if it were my place.” I seem to be saying that a lot this year.

Long week for me this week. Every day at work starts at 7am. Monday’s crochet club until 5pm, Tuesday’s professional development until 5:15pm, Wednesday’s staff meeting until 4:45pm, Thursday and Friday are normal (out at 3:45pm). It’s Emma’s Nana’s last week here in America (she’s been here for a month), so Emma and she are taking a coach trip to Boston, probably Wednesday. Saturday is bringing Nana to the airport, then shopping in Wrentham with Emma and Clint. Sunday is moving all of Emma’s stuff from the apartment, to my house.

My house is going to be chock-full next week. Aaron’s girlfriend Jess lives in New Jersey. She’s taking some time off of work, and spending most of October with us. So, we’ll have Mom, Dad, Aaron & Jess, Saul, Abe & Rachel, me & Emma. That, and Abe just had a friend move back from Texas, and we jokingly offered a couch to him. Yay 10 people living in 1 house!

2 Comments

  1. Deneen said,

    You should be okay with two different sessions, you are used to teaching groups-so that’ll give you a heads up.

    Oooh, the communal living could be fun-at least you’ll get lots of time to spend with your family and they’ll get to know Emma a bit more. I couldn’t do it with my family, because, well we know each other and don’t like spending that much time together (LOL).

  2. Rachel said,

    At least it’s a big house.

    We should all go somewhere for the group discount. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

