Crochet Club

September 19, 2006 at 8:27 am (Crochet & Crafts, Teaching)

Wow. I’ve already got 20 permission slips back from kids wanting to do crochet club. Because of ratios, I can only have 12 to a group – even with Emma coming to help me out.

I have this group of girls that I worked with last year, when I brought in my crochet stuff to do at the end of the school year. They can’t do Mondays (chorus) – I let them know that if they can get a group of 8 to stay on Thursdays, I’d do a day with them. I ran it by the director here at work, and he was fine with that. Not that it’s the #1 factor, but another day of crochet club means more stipend for me. Which is very much needed.

I started on the hair scrunchie that I linked to in my last post…it seems pretty easy to put together. I do like the ideas of lanyards and shoe laces, too! Here are my project lesson ideas:

chain – scrunchies, shoe laces, bracelets, lanyards

sc – wrist bands, head bands, pot holders

hdc – clutches, phone & game cozies

dc – scarves, purses & bags

I also have 5 sessions at the end set aside to work on one continual project. I’m going to talk it over with the kids to see what kind of thing they would want to work on.

4 Comments

  1. Deneen said,

    Sarah-I ordered the book “Kids Crochet” by Kelli Ronci from the library for Elena and found a few chain projects:

    One is shoelaces made from cotton yarn with pony beads on the ends. The other is a pencil cup, they wrapped the chains in a coil around an empty jar and used glue to hold it on.They also suggested finger crocheting first, before the crocheting with a hook. The finger crocheting just makes a thicker chain.

  2. Deneen said,

    I forgot this, they can making juggling balls and stuff them with dried soybeans or hacky sacks too

  3. Pink said,

    One of the projects I started in after school care that all the kids work on when they feel like it is circles of hope for an afghan.

  4. rachel said,

    What fun! I would have liked something like this back when I was in middle school 🙂 Great job!

Leave a Reply

