My September 11, 2001

September 11, 2006 at 8:11 am (Personal Revelations & Whatnot)

I had just gotten done working at Camp Hoffman for the summertime. Emma and I were just beginning our relationship together. She was spending the duration of her work visa living with my family and I. We were having a late day in bed, since I didn’t have to get up for work. (See, I didn’t have a new job yet.)

My brother Saul knocked on my door and said “A plane’s crashed into the World Trade Center.” Em and I were very concerned, since many of the people we worked with at camp that summer were heading back to their various homes around the world. We later learned that we were lucky, since no one we knew were on the planes. We went downstairs to the livingroom and watched the Today show for the next 6 hours or so.

My mom called her sister, since her neice lived in Manhattan. My aunt wasn’t able to get through to my cousin, since all the phone lines were jammed. She did not work in the towers, so although not completely paniced, we weren’t as upset as we could have been. We later learned that she was safe.

I didn’t leave the television for the next 2 days. I think this is where my obsession with having to know what is going on with the world began. Even today, I’m still living with an indirect result of 9/11. My brother Aaron’s best friend is Chuck. Chuck joined the Marines last year, and is serving in Falujah as I type this.

Leave a Reply

