The Anxiety Takes Over

August 13, 2006 at 3:51 pm (The Big Move)

Today’s the day I’ve set aside in my mind to have a discussion with my parents over something pretty major. For the last week, I’ve been stressing over it, trying to calm myself with “You don’t have to worry until Sunday.” But Sunday is here, and I still haven’t been able to sit down with Mom and Dad.

I’m waiting for the “right moment”, when they are both relaxing, having a beer, and chilling out on their deck. That moment hasn’t come yet. Dad’s working on the deck, Mom’s in the garden. I was hoping to have it done before Emma calls me tonight, but with that about an hour away, I don’t see that happening. My parents go to bed earlyish (8), so I have a pretty short window.

I don’t want to disrupt their activities with the stereotypical “I need to talk to you” type thing, but I do want to talk to them. I just want to get it over with, and start the process I need to. Talking to them is th first step in that process.

I’ve already had a dry-run with breaking the news to a friend and my brother Abe. My friend’s reaction was what I had hoped it would be, my brother’s was a little less than enthusiastic.

Argh.

1 Comment

  1. Deneen said,

    I don’t envy you on this talk, that’s for sure. I come from a family (okay, my mother) that would fall apart if I ever said I was moving away. Part of me sometimes gets angry about it because it was taken for granted I would be here all the time.

    At least your parents are still married and you have brothers who will be around them and can contact you and let you know what is going on.

    I’m not helping am I?

Leave a Reply

