UK Bloggin’ – Chapel-en-le-Frith

July 13, 2006 at 4:38 pm (Travel)

Today, I finally got to look around the town I am staying in. Girlfriend’s Dad took me for about a 2 hour walking tour of the village. After a 10 minute walk, we got to the stocks that have been in the town for ages. I was tempted to take a pic of me inside them, but I didn’t want to get too touristy.


After that, we came upon was the chapel that has been in the town since 1226. Chapel-en-le-Frith means “chapel in the forest” in French, and this is the chapel the name references.


There weren’t any signs prohibiting photography at this church, and the yeoman inside didn’t seem to be bothered my my picture taking. The church is deticated to St. Thomas, so the stained glass represented him and and his miracles.

The arches had these cool faces at the bottoms, where they connected to the walls of the church.

When we left the church, we walked through the village, to the park in the center of town. There, I sat and watched a game of crown green bowls. It was a league game of the local veterans. One of the older men there tried to explain it to me, but I got thrown off by his accent.


When the game was over, we walked back to Girlfriend’s house. Nice day, overall.

Leave a Reply

