UK Bloggin’ – Well Dressing

July 6, 2006 at 11:26 am (Travel)

There is a rather unique tradition in the part of England I am staying in. Every July, the residents of the town “dress up” their water wells. Although most of these wells are no longer used, they are still functional.


Lately, the tradition has been to frame wet clay, and push flower petals into the clay to create a picture. These pictures are centered around a theme, this year’s being “Proverbs and Sayings”. One of these wells, called “Nanny’s Well” was about half a mile from Girlfriend’s house, so her dad and I went for a walk to see it.

Here’s the little plaque on the cover of it, explaining what it was.

There were two sayings at this well. This one is “A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.”

And this smaller one is “Don’t judge a book by its cover.” Yes, it’s Shrek.

4 Comments

  1. Deneen said,

    How interesting-very neat.

  2. Pink said,

    My great-gran, who lived in Shropshire, had one of those pumps in her garden and I remember drawing water for tea from it when I was about six…I can also remember eating too much chocolate cake and getting sick in the car on the way back to Kent. TMI, eh? Aah, happy days!

  3. karanoelle said,

    You’re really getting to see the charming side of charming old England! I’m jealous.

    And by the way, Happy Belated Independence Day. Aww yeah….I bet that one goes over well with the girlfriend.

  4. Kelly said,

    How cool, I wish I was there~ The pics are great throughout your blog. I’m sure you don’t miss home to much… lol It’s beautiful there~ Consider staying, and I’ll have a place to visit! lol

Leave a Reply

