UK Bloggin’ – Sleepless Nights

June 29, 2006 at 7:05 am (Travel)

I think I have the worst case of jetlag I’ve had in the ump-teen times I’ve been over here. What I usually do on the first day here is sleep as soon as I arrive. That way, I have some energy to be functional for the first day. Then, when it’s time for bed (10-ish in these parts), take a sleeping pill. Generally, after that first night, I’ve been golden. No problems at all.

This time, very different. Even taking sleeping pills, the earliest I’ve fell asleep this week has been 2am. Last night, I finally dozed off after about 3:30ish. In the morning, I’m not waking up until noon-ish. Which gets me lots of chuckles and fun-poking when I do make my way downstairs for lunch.

I really do just need to bite the bullet, and get up when Girlfriend does (7am). I’ll be screwed up that day, but I think it’s what I need to set my body-clock right.

I never realized how I was so used to the outside noises back home. I live near wetlands, so my nights are filled with frog-singing, crockets, and the occasional car racing down the street. Seven people live in my house, working all different hours, so I always hear some commotion going on in the house. My housemates also snore. Loudly. I’m the type of person who can’t fall asleep in silence, so it’s not a bother at all.

Here, I’m staying near train-tracks. I never hear them during the day, but I think there’s a train an hour all night long. No frogs. No crickets. No commotion. No cars. No snoring. Just the occasional train. I never really understood the phrase “the silence is deafening” until being up at 2am, and wide awake.

Leave a Reply

