UK Bloggin’ – Flight and 1st Day

June 27, 2006 at 10:33 am (Travel)

Well, I made it. Safe and sound. I had quite an adventure getting here, though.

I arrived at Providence Airport on time, and made it through security with no issues. I got to the gate, and when the time came, I got on the plane. Two hours later, I was still on the plane, on the tar-mac in Providence. Apparently the air-traffic-control didn’t have any people running it, so there were no planes leaving Providence until they got some. The took us off the plane, and we waited at the gate.

Lots of people were panicing. I wasn’t, since I made sure I got the flight with the longest layover time possible. Been there – done that. There was this one lady flipping out, since she had already missed her connection, and the next flight leaving to her desination was Tuesday. Keep in mind, it was Sunday.

After four hours of waiting, I had gone through all the yarn I had in my carry-on bag. The plus side is, I’m much more far along on my Cookie Monster bag. They loaded us all back on the plane, and we were off to Newark. With two hours to spare, I had no problems making my connection to Manchester.

But there was another waiting game. The plane was having problems taking on fuel, so we waiting on the tar-mac another two hours. We must have made the time up in flight, since I only got to Manchester an hour later than I was supposed to. Girlfriend’s dad was there waiting for me, since Girlfriend was at work.

I made it to their place, had a cup of coffee, and then slept for the next 6 hours. I watched the Australia / Italy game (awful way for Australia to lose) and the Swiss/Ukraine game (boooooooring). Girlfriend and I had some quality time together, and before I knew it, she was fast asleep. She’s ill – bless her. Lovely jet-lag kept me up until about 2am.

5 Comments

  1. Deneen said,

    Glad you made it safe and sound-hope Emma feels better soon.

    Have a wonderful time.

  2. karanoelle said,

    I’m smiling a little New England smile for you as I sit here thinking…..”I’ll be in England in a month!”

    Hi Emma!

  3. Lucy said,

    So glad you had a safe trip there….I liked the prior blog….we should all take a moment at least once a year and let everyone know how we feel about having them in our lives. Enjoy the trip!

  4. Kari said,

    Glad you made it safely!
    I too hope Emma gets well soon!

  5. Pink said,

    Glad you made it…and have a great excuse to go yarn shopping! Have a great time.

Leave a Reply

