Wait, what? I have to stay all day?

June 21, 2006 at 10:02 am (Teaching)

Since the dawn of time at my school, the students had a half day on their last day. When students left at 11:30, we could leave soon after. Since our calendar didn’t say any differently this year, a rather large party was planned to go off at 1pm today. It’s a going-away bash of sorts, since 9 out of the 13 lead teachers, and 5 out of the 8 paraprofessionals that I work with are leaving to take teaching jobs elsewhere.

But this morning, we get this in our daily notice.

“TODAY – 11:30 A.M. student dismissal – No lunch served – No P.M. Kids Care – Today is a REGULAR DAY FOR ALL STAFF. Instructional staff may leave at 3:00 PM. Check Morning Notice for more details.”

Arrrrrrrgggggghhhhhh!

Update @ 10:50am – Oh….it gets better. A friend of mine emailed the principal. Here is a copy of her email, with named changed.

Good Morning Mr. Principal,
I’ve noticed on the morning notice that we are to stay till 3pm. On this years calendar it states 11:30 dismissal, and for the 3 years I’ve been here it has always been an 11:30 dismissal. I have prior engagements because I’ve known we were getting out at 11:30. I don’t understand why we were told this today. I am unable to change my plans and will have to leave at 11:30. My office is clean except for my books that I will be packing in my car tomorrow.

Teacher.

And this is the reply she got.

Teacher,

To be honest I do not think the tone of your e-mail is really appropriate or professional.

Policies, schedules, etc. change from year to year in every organization, so no one should expect things to be the same just because that’s the way it was done before.

The heading of the section in the 2005-06 School Calendar distributed to staff in June of 2005 clearly states:
NO SCHOOL & EARLY DISMISSAL DAYS FOR STUDENTS and it does not state it is early dismissal for staff. Therefore, you were actually “told this”, to use your words, in June 2005 and not today.

In the past, the last day of school for students has been an early release day for staff. However, the last day for staff (tomorrow) has always been a full work day. This year it that schedule (tomorrow is a 1:00 PM dismissal) was reversed for reasons that are more beneficial to the school.

I am sorry if anyone made any incorrect assumptions regarding today’s schedule. Staff members who have a conflict in working all day due to such assumptions may apply for personal time for this afternoon if they choose to do so.

Thank you.

Principal.

How about those (like me) that don’t have any sick time left? I’m going to have to take half-a-day unpaid if I leave at 11:45.

2 Comments

  1. karanoelle said,

    this whole thing is BS

  2. karanoelle said,

    Hey,doesn’t it feel good to have summer to look forward to? Hey, check out my blog, I just posted my Europe Itinerary. I’m looking forward to being touristy!

Leave a Reply

