Confessions of a UFO Maniac

May 10, 2006 at 2:01 pm (Crochet & Crafts)

I think I have a problem.

Every time I see something interesting that I want to crochet, I start on it. I work on it until the next new and exciting thing comes around, then I begin that. I think I have a dozen WIPs right now – all larger scale projects.

I think part of my issue is that I have so much Red Heart and Homespun around, that I think to myself, “I have the yarn. Might as well give it a go!” I don’t seem to have the self-control to say “Wait until your Cathedral Rose afghan you started 6 months ago is done, then start the queen-size granny square afghan.”

I’ve also had to balance creating stock for my sales (which are small items I can pop out in a few hours) to working on long-term projects. I think to myself “I have 7 months to make 8 afghans for Christmas. That’s plenty of time! I can start making that Care Bear from the pattern book I just got.” But in reality, I don’t think it is enough time.

I’m on UFO overload.

4 Comments

  1. Leslie Shelor said,

    I’ve been right where you are, but somehow since I started spinning and blogging I’m more focused. I probably don’t get any more done, though!

  2. Amy said,

    I’m putting a section in my sidebar called “Area 51”, since it will be a home for UFO’s. Your list isn’t really that bad. I’m a little afraid to start listing mine to be honest.

  3. DixieRedHead said,

    I do the same thing. It was only a few years ago when I decided to start finishing things up. Last year I finished a doily i started 3 years ago. My secret? I make myself complete at least one row of a project every night. But, I still have that cathedral rose on the back burner…. its been over a year, too. Grrrrr. wip war!

  4. DixieRedHead said,

    I do the same thing. It was only a few years ago when I decided to start finishing things up. Last year I finished a doily i started 3 years ago. My secret? I make myself complete at least one row of a project every night. But, I still have that cathedral rose on the back burner…. its been over a year, too. Grrrrr. wip war!

Leave a Reply

