Punk Gloves and Mega Granny Squares

February 4, 2006 at 9:45 pm (Uncategorized)

Going to Joann Fabric to me is like any normal 20-something year old girl going to a shoe store…you know you really don’t need anything, but you end up buying $60 worth of stuff anyway. That’s what happened to me Saturday. My girlfriend wanted to go to get some yarn for her mother, and I tagged along. I ended up buying 4 skeins of yarn, a pack of hooks, a yarn-organizing drawer, a pair of scissors, and a really cool yarn-tubey thing.

I began two projects this weeking. Yes, I know I said I really should not start anything new, but I did. I tried to get going on Midnight Knitter’s Punk Gloves, and it was going good. I completed one glove, but soon realized that the tops were too big for my hands, so I pulled out the top part. Here’s where I’m at now. Paige isn’t too impressed. The next day I ended up forgetting about the bobbled top, and just went for straight cuffs all the way up. The pattern, as well as pics of the finished product are here.

I also decided I’m making an afghan of large granny squares with the new yarn I bought. Here’s the beginning of it, with the yarn-tubey thing I bought as well. Next weekend I’ll have to go back to the store to get some coordinating yarn. It would be boring all the same yarn-pattern, right? At the very least, I’ll need some matching light and dark blue for the borders.

Girlfriend got sick of the pile of yarn and whatnot in our room, so she organized it all into the shelving unit I bought, and stuck it in the closet. I must admit, it looks much better now. At least the cat and dog won’t get into it.

Leave a Reply

